Christening Dress in Bearissima Swiss Batiste

gibbsgown10gibbsgown8gibbsgown9gibbsupperdress

gibbs bib

gibbs bonnets

gibbs hem

gibbs slip

gibbsfulllengthI have just finished another christening/baptismal dress. This one is for someone local. Usually I mail them. This dress is done in white Bearissima with a beautiful Maline lace. The inserton and edgings all match. This dress has puffing with insertion pinstitched on either side. There are sections of pintucks and more insertion. I hand shadow worked the cross on the center of the yoke and on the bib. The sleeves have a row of the insertion and a wide version of the lace gathered to beading.I even used lace to make the dress skirt placket. So elegant. The matching slip has lace on the bottom as well as pintucks. I embroidered the baby’s name and baptism date on the slip. I made a girl bonnet and a boy hat, too, so if they have a boy in the future, they will have a less frilly hat for him. I made knotted rosettes for the bonnet. I also made a bib to match. I used Wendy Schoen’s pippsqueek bib pattern from Heirlooms for Boys and substituted the cross for her embroidery. I love doing the lace shaping. This gown was 42″ long. I always love to see pictures of the babies wearing the gowns I have made. This child is so precious and makes the gown come to life!

Leave a Reply

